17 Dec 2021

The steering committee charged with planning the road map to independent federation status for the Middle East Africa region has been increased from five members to seven following a governance review. The need was identified to include independent members with specific skills and Sami Garabedian, former professional player Bolu Fagborun and Saad Boujmal have been added to existing elected member representatives, Nayef abi Said (Lebanon), Dr Frans Erasmus (South Africa), Adam Sada (Nigeria) and Ghassan Badawi (Libya).

Sami Garabedian was elected by the group as chair and commented: “It is indeed a privilege to have been entrusted with the lead role of this esteemed group. I hope that along with my other colleagues of exceptional quality, we will be able to steer MEA to new heights. It will be a collective effort in the best interests of the game.”

Dr Frans Erasmus has been elected vice chair and MEA regional director Remond Safi appointed as secretary.