1 Nov 2023

The initial squads have been announced for the first senior women’s internationals to be played in Africa. Nigeria face Ghana in a three-match series with the first two games taking place in Lagos at the CMS Grandma School on November 3 and 5. The third match will be in Ghana, on December 9, at University of Ghana in Accra


Nigeria vice chairman and general manager, Ade Adebisi, commented: “As we prepare to make history, we stand at the forefront of a transformative moment for women's sports in the Middle East and Africa (MEA) region. This fixture is not just about the game, it's a symbol of empowerment, resilience and a commitment to breaking barriers. We're proud to provide a platform for our female athletes to shine and showcase their talent on an international stage.”


He added: “This match is a testament to the unwavering dedication of Nigeria Rugby League Association and the incredible progress we've made in promoting gender equality in sports. It is also a crucial step towards our goal of achieving full membership with the IRL. We are thrilled to contribute to the growth of rugby league in our region and beyond. We look forward to a competitive match that will leave a lasting mark on the world of women's rugby league. Together we are forging a path towards greater inclusivity, equality, and excellence in sport.”


Juliana Storey, president of Rugby League Federation Ghana, noted: “International exposure is priceless for our women's rugby league team. Our historic match against Nigeria marks not only a significant milestone, but also an incredible opportunity to foster the growth of our beloved sport and entice more women to join our ranks. This momentous test is our gateway to possible 2026 World Cup qualification, and with determination and teamwork, we are on our way to making history. Together, we are building a brighter future for women's rugby league in Ghana.”



Bhom Fati, Cynthia Anafo Anyokama, Fauziya Nurudeen Larry, Hilaria Wuaku, Jennifer Teiko Moncar, Mary Obeng (Accra Panthers), Angela Yakubu Adjuik, Belinda Ayele, Estelle Haizel, Rosemary Sewornu, Shamsiya Tahiru, Sheila Tetteh (Nungua Tigers), Adiza Mohammed Bogobiri, Bernice Padikie Awohteye, Eunice Awuni, Eunice Lawoe, Hammond Grace Adjoa, Jacqueline Ansah, Joyce Mamle Obubuafo, Marceline Ashie, Millicent Nborti Njomaba, Nadia Enyan (Skolars RLFC)



Adaeze Innocent, Abuovbo Imoisi, Barakat Aribidesi, Chioma Nwakpa, Oseni Muyinat, Obi Joneveine, Prelious Ukwuoma Sukurat Nojimu, Umude Blessing (Eko Trinity), Bright Anthony Akpan, Elizabeth Adie Nyangbe, Cynthia Ishaya, Grace David, Ruth Odey, (Kano lions), Rukayat, Aladegelu Blessing, Augusta Mene, Chiaza Prelious, Godfirst Samson, Lauretta Gabriel, Success Iyoha, Perpetual Nwanya, Vera Akihiero, (Lagos Haven), Abiola Obazuaye, Jimoh Rukayat, Kafayat Ashagbesoro, Prelious Ukwuoma, (R2 Finesse Lagos)