29 Sep 2011

The extended 2011 Nordic Cup sees Denmark XIII play their second match against Scandinavian neighbours this weekend.

The Danes won their first ever game against Sweden earlier in the year and they now face Norway on Sunday at Gladsaxe near Copenhagen.

The stadium management have signed an agreement to offer a permanent home to the Danish Rugby League team in a stunning FIFA Category 2 stadium.

DRL Official Mark Hewson cannot wait to exhibit the sport in his country. “Both nations see this competition as a valuable development tool, a showcase for Rugby League in Scandinavia and Northern Europe,” he said.  “After stiff competition for places, the Danish 'train on' squad was selected from a lot of areas of the country.”

The Norwegians will be sending a development side, Rugby League Norge CEO Warren Heilig commented, "We will be taking a lot of fresh new faces to give them a taste of representative rugby. It is a good chance to blood some up-and-coming talent."

The Danes have named a 28-man squad for the match and will be looking to secure the Nordic Cup in their first year. Their players are selected from the west of Denmark, both sides of the 'Great Belt' bridge that links the island of Zealand to Fyn and Jutland which bodes well for next year's proposed inaugural 'State of Origin' game in the country.

Andreas Clipet-Jensen, Bjarne Vibe-Vibe, Bobby Gernon, Chris Hedquist, Dani Thut, Eugene Hanrahan (captain), Glen Larsen, Herbert Mulipola, Jim Merdith, Joshua Whitehead, Justin Eyles, Llewellyn Pilbeam, Mark Hewson, Martin Pedersen-Scott, Micheal Stetnil, Morten Dam, Murray Power, Neil Smith, Nick Millner, Nigel Kitching (player coach), Nikita Fisunov, Richard Nalyor, Rune Thorbjorn Nordvang, Serge Smirnoff, Silas Mubanda, Stephen Borregaard-Clarke, Tomas Hobbs, Viiga Lima.

Erlend Meldalen, Trym Vindal (Aker Seagulls), Nathan Clark, Trent Rowen (Bergen Barbarians), Daniel Rossetvik, Joakim Svensson (Flisbyen Broncos), Jørgen Schmidt, Kristian Ytterdal Elgheim (Fedrikstad Falcons), Peter Engeland, Cam Leslie, Fredrik Skovly (Oslo Capitals), Lars Haigh, Nils Haigh, Thomas Hilton (Saddleworth Rangers), Mads Haukland, Kristoffer Milligan (Stavanger Wolves), Joakim Jaxland, Joshua Skidmore-Hornby (Tromso Polar Bears)