13 Oct 2014

Scotland have named players from four domestic clubs and several with Super League academy experience in their Under-19 squad for their upcoming games with Ireland and England. Head coach Mark Senter retains 11 of the 15 players who did so well in the Commonwealth Championship Nines tournament in June, when they beat England and drew with Australia at Broadwood Stadium in North Lanarkshire.

Glaswegian production line Easterhouse Panthers, Scottish junior champions Aberdeen Warriors, Ayrshire Storm and Edinburgh Eagles all have at least two players in the squad, who play Ireland in a curtain-raiser to the European Championship match at Tallaght Stadium in south-west Dublin on Saturday 25 October and then England Lionhearts at University of Edinburgh on Saturday 1 November.

Senter has lost centre Harvey Burnett to Steve McCormack’s full Scotland squad and may see a couple of other players progress to the senior this month.

Coming into the squad are several forwards who missed the Nines tournament and returning to the squad are the likes of Easterhouse Panthers back Gregor Ramsey and Wakefield loose forward Corbyn Kilday, both of whom have played for Scotland junior teams over the last three years.

Kilday has spent that time playing every week for Trinity in the Super League Academy programme but has not been offered a full-time professional contract by the Wildcats.

In that time he has come up against hooker or winger Jack Stewart of Hull KR and London Broncos’ full-back or centre Richard Harris, who both excelled in the Commonwealth Championships. Having been released by London, Harris returned to play for his hometown club, Medway Dragons, but has signed for Warrington Wolves for 2015.

Carwyn Walker, Damien Genocchio, Angus Grindlay (Aberdeen Warriors); William Black, Connor Turnball (Ayrshire Storm); Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders); Joe Kirkup (East Cumbria Crusaders); Iain Allen, Jack Feeney, Fraser McTaggart, Gregor Ramsey, Kieran Wyber (Easterhouse Panthers); Lewis Clarke, Finn Murphy (Edinburgh Eagles); Jack Stewart (Hull Kingston Rovers); Matty While (Leeds Rhinos), Richard Harris (Medway Dragons); Oliver Murray (Thatto Heath); Corbyn Kilday (Wakefield Trinity); Alex Jobson (Waterhead).