England: 28
Wales: 0

Match report

The Wales Physical Disability Rugby League side will be applauded for their courage on Saturday against a strong England as they went down 52-0.

Injuries and unavailability forced Wales down to a bare nine players, which meant they were playing with no substitutes, whilst England had a full bench keeping up their fitness for the entire game.

And they were further disadvantaged when captain Morgan Jones limped off after 20 minutes. By that time, England were 22-0 up through two tries from Connor Lynes and one each from Steven Bates and Tommy Pouncey with Nick Kennedy converting three times.

England scored again before the break, through Darren Dean that Kennedy converted to put them 28-0 up at half-time.

Rob Davies, who will be Wales PDRL coach next year, was allowed to come for Wales to make up the numbers in the second half. This is allowed in PDRL games but as an able-bodied player, he’s not allowed to score, only assist. Ben Reynolds was on hand to do the same for England if needed.

However, it took England less than a minute to add to their lead. Nick Horner scoring under the posts and Kennedy converting.

Scott Gobin got England’s next two tries with Tommy Pouncey kicking the goals.

Steven Bates brought up the half-century, scoring under the posts with John Clements converting.

England: Connor Lynes (Hull Kingston Rovers), Steven Bates (Leeds Rhinos), Nicholas Leigh (Leeds Rhinos), Scott Gobin (Leeds Rhinos), Mark Gummerson (Castleford Tigers), Darren Dean (Wakefield Trinity), Adam Fleming (Wakefield Trinity), Jamie Barnett (Warrington Wolves), Nick Kennedy (Castleford Tigers), John Clements (Wakefield Trinity), Tommy Pouncey (Leeds Rhinos). Subs: Harvey Redmond (Leeds Rhinos), Nick Horner (Leeds Rhinos), Ben Nicholson (Wakefield Trinity), Steve Mort (Wigan Warriors), Lee Thornton (Wigan Warriors), Ben Reynolds (Wakefield Trinity).

Wales: Morgan Jones (Salford Red Devils), Gareth Sullivan (unattached), Eric Horridge (Llanelli Warriors MARU), Dylan Hughes (Leeds Rhinos), Kieran Gardner (Salford Red Devils), Sam Bowditch (Salford Red Devils), Tyma Hughes (Salford Red Devils), Chris Spriggs (Llanelli Warriors MARU), David Jones (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats), Rob Davies (Torfaen Tigers).