Serbia: 0
Euro Celts: 0

    Austen Novaković (1,22,60), Nemanja Šisler (8), Stevan Stevanović (17,75,79)
Euro Celts:
    Paul Barbaza (27,36), Byron Whalley (32), Sergey Pavlyuchenkov (51,72), Denis Andreev (70)

    Austen Novaković 1/3, Vojislav Dedić 1/1, Filip Brkić 3/3
Euro Celts:
    Victor Solokhin 4/6

Match report


A crowd of over 400 locals witnessed a thrilling encounter in the sun-drenched Beroun stadium between Serbia and the Euro Celt select. Extra time loomed in a fascinating, end-to-end clash but with two minutes remaining, full back Stevan Stevanović claimed his hat trick score to secure a 42-36 success.

Serbia dominated the early possession and on the back of some fine handling and strong running were three tries up inside 25 minutes, the highlight being a superb break from Austen Novaković after the ball had gone through eight pairs of hands. The composite Celts showed great character, the players from three nations gelling quickly to force their way back into the contest.

Paul Barbaza claimed the first of two tries between the posts from a close range tap and that was quickly by some neat footwork from prop Byron Whalley who powered over. Slobodan Jovanović and Denis Andreev swapped tries in the lead up to the break between two extremely well matched sides, Vojislav Dedić and Dejan Knežević scoring for the Serbs who were well served by Nemanja Šisler.

Scrum half Sergey Pavlyuchenkov with a double and Victor Solokhin, who also landed three conversions, replied and with courageous defence and some inventive flair keeping the crowd enthralled, Stevanović lost his marker with a superb side step and raced home from 40 metres for the decisive score.

Pictured: Austen Novakovic scoots over for his hat-trick.

Stevan Stevanović, Velibor Srećković, Dejan Hafizović, Nikola Radivojević, Nemanja Šisler, Vojislav Dedić, Filip Brkić, Filip Jovanović, Austen Novaković, Dragan Vasiljević, Dejan Knežević, Stefan Gajić, Nikša Unković. Subs: Dragan Kranjčec, Marko Lirić, Slobodan Jovanović, Predrag Ćosić

Fred Lyth (SCO), Denis Andreev (RUS), Sergey Pavlyuchenkov (RUS), Maxime Peault (FRA), Fedor Kovalchuk (RUS), Pavel Galkin (RUS), Victor Solokhin (RUS), Byron Whalley (SCO), Paul Barbaza (FRA), Vadim Teptsov (RUS), Chris Killean (SCO), Callum MacDonald (SCO), Mounir El-Jaghmati (FRA)