Czech Republic: 8
Sweden: 16

Czech Republic:
    Koliska (26), Sedina (80)
    Wikander (3, 72), Groth (32, 36), Wilaström (65), Ahilan (75), Cammell (79)

Czech Republic:
    Sedina 1/2, Kubasta 1/1
    Jonsson 6/7, Wikander 0/1

Match report

A strong defensive effort and more clinical finishing saw Sweden secure a victory on their first trip into the Czech Republic.

Fabian Wikander and Anthony Groth both scored two tries in a six-try display that saw Sweden take control of the game towards the end of a very physical first half and at the beginning of the second half, although the Czechs will take pride from a strong display in front of a vocal crowd in Tis.

Sweden took the lead after just three minutes as Wikander crashed over, but the Czechs were not downhearted and, after a Sedina Penalty reduce the arrears, they took the lead when Koliska found space to score, with Kubasta landing the conversion to put the Czech’s 8-4 up. They very nearly extended the lead, but Vejchoda lost the ball in contact over the tryline, and this jolted Sweden back into life, with the game turning on two tries in four minutes by Anthony Groth.

This gave Sweden a comfortable 16-8 lead at half time and they continued to force chances as the second half started, with Jonsson slotting over a penalty and Eriksson and Aylander creating plenty of chances to score in open play. The Czechs managed to hold out the relentless battering of their line and created a few chances of their own through Koliska and some big forwards play.

However, another Swedish try was coming and Wilaström scored with 15 minutes remaining to take the game further away from the home team. Further tries from Wikander, with his second, Ahilan and Cammell gave the score a flattering look for Sweden, but the hosts were not bowed and ended the match on a high note as Petr Sedina forced his way over for a fine try to leave the score 40-12 to Sweden.

Filip Spacek, Pavel Kubasta, Milan Pesout, Patrik Koliska, Radoslav Vejchoda, Petr Sedina, Jaroslav Bzoch, Jiri Sluka, Martin Cernohorsky, Antonin Berk, Pavel Pavlik, Michal Pecha, Jan Heininger. Subs: Jan Havard, Adam Petržela, Petr Franta, Jiri Valek

Paul Briggs, Sebastian Hylander, Fabian Wikander, Anthony Groth, Plamen Lazarov, Noak Jonsson, Pontus Eriksson, Paris Ghavidel-Asgari, Sam Cammell, Karl Joakim Svensson, Chris Ah Lam, Erik Burman, Peter Wikstrom. Subs: Arvid Karlsson, Robert Verma, Patrick Hocker, Markus Lundin