Czech Republic: 0
Euro Celts: 0

Czech Republic:
    Jan Buben 3, Michal Vencura, Jan Holovsky
Euro Celts:
    Pavel Galkin 2, Fedor Kovalchuk, Denis Andreev

Czech Republic:
    Jan Buben 2/2, Michal Vencura 1/3
Euro Celts:
    Victor Solokhin 3/4

Match report


The home crowd of over 500 were treated to a first victory at any level by the Czech Republic, who defeated the Euro Celts, made up of players from five nations under the guidance of the Russian Federation, 26-22.

The passionate supporters thrilled to the performance of the Czech’s, victory assured in the closing minute when outstanding captain Jan Buben went in for the decisive try. The hosts made a poor start with Michal Vencura sin-binned, during which time they conceded two quick tries from impressive Euro Celts stand off Pavel Galkin.

Stand off Vencura, fresh after his ten minute break, returned to score, converted by Buben before Jan Holovsky leveled matters with a well worked effort out wide. Euro Celts regained the initiative through Fedor Kovalchuk, establishing a 14-12 lead at the interval.

The second half started the same way as the first with another Czech sin binning, this time winger Dalibor Smotek for holding down after a Celts break, but the disadvantage inspired the Czechs to another try through Buben with Vencura adding the extras.

The Euro select hit the front again with Denis Andreev’s touchdown but Buben’s late intervention sealed the home win much to the delight of the partisan crowd, largely comprised of pupils and teachers from the schools development programmes working in Beroun and the region.

Jakub Smišek, Martin ÄŒernohorský, Pavel Vseticka, Jan Holovsky, Dalibor Smotek, Michal Vančura, Petr Dobremysl, Pável Bures, David Dolák, Michal Hora, David Polášek, Martin Cihlar, Jan Buben. Subs: David Pejcoch, Jakub Hrbac, Cenek Holovsky, Lukas Vasek

Sergey Pavlyuchenkov (RUS), Denis Andreev (RUS), Fedor Kovalchuk (RUS), Chris Killean (SCO), Fred Lyth (SCO), Pavel Galkin (RUS), Victor Solokhin (RUS), Petar Pavlović (SRB), Nemanja Šisler (SRB), Mark Boland (SCO), Predrag Ćosić (SRB), Vadim Teptsov (RUS), Byron Whalley (SCO). Subs: Karel Fail (CZE), Martin Vaniak (CZE), Vladimir Necid (CZE), David Pudil (CZE)