29 Sep 2023

Netherlands and Norway have named their squads for the men’s senior international, to be played for world ranking points, at Sassenheim on Saturday 30 September 2023 (kick off at 2pm local time). Netherlands’ first international was staged 20 years ago against Scotland ‘A’ in the town and this will be the first return there since that game.

The hosts have ten players in line to make their debuts; James Adams, Lars Mudde, Lucas Thomson, Tom van Bokhoven, Maas van der Reek, Harry Mulligan, Mitch Donnelly, Tom Turnock, Soren van der Linden and Rowan Schuiling.

 Head coach, Dave Hunter, commented: “We’ll be looking to get our international campaign off to a positive start and set some standards. Unfortunately, the loss of our captain Daniel de Ruiter is a massive blow, but I’m confident others will step up in his place. Tom van Bokhoven comes into the captain’s role and I’m sure he’ll do a fantastic job, it shows the player depth that we have in the Netherlands. We’re really looking forward to seeing how the younger boys perform who were all outstanding during the domestic season.”

 Norway have selected an all domestic-based squad with three potential debutants included in Simon Olsen and Alexander Ponton and the squad comes off having been in camp together for the first time under new head coach Liam Stead, who took over from Hunter.

“I am excited about the team we are slowly becoming and how well we are meshing together,” said Stead. “The Netherlands is going to be a stern test so we are expecting a huge challenge, but one I expect us to rise to. The match will prove the perfect testing ground for us as we look to see where we are and build towards the exciting future we have.”

Last weekend the Parizov family provided a father and son who played for Bulgaria against Malta and the same could happen for the Vikings with Eric "Sonny" Mellor, who is among Norway’s most experienced players, set to turn out with son Jymaal Sonny Mellor, the pair play together at Lillestrøm Lions.

James Adams, William Johnston, Lars Mudde (Amsterdam Cobras), Lucas Thomson (Cessnock Goannas), Tom van Bokhoven (Cromer Kingfishers), Frank Longhurst, Maas van der Reek, Bonne Wilce, Hamish Wragg (Den Haag Knights), Harry Mulligan (The Entrance Tigers), Mitch Donnelly (Narrabeen Sharks), Shadan Lavia, Isaac Ngirubiu, Tom Turnock, Soren van der Linden (Rotterdam Pitbulls), Mauricio Gomez Pazos, Kees Kuijpers, Mike Prins, Rowan Schuiling (Zwolle Wolves)

Kristoffer Milligan (Flekkefjord Tigers), Simon Olsen, Arne Oma Torsen (Haugesund Sea Eagles), Brett Harvey, Nils Kristian Holte, (Oslo Capitals, Norway), Eric Mellor, Jymaal Mellor-King, Alexander John Ponton, Andreas Vaagen, Lucas Zuniga (Lillestrøm Lions), Dan Horne,Martin Høyland, Marius Odland Sagelv (Sandnes Raiders, Norway), Robin Bjørnstad, Frank Kiriinya, Stephen Mwikaria, Mathias Vada Stenseth-Holm ( Trondheim Rugby Klubb)