12 Jun 2014

The Danish Rugby League Forbund (DRLF) have announced their initial train-on squad ahead of the first Nordic Cup tie against Norway in Oslo on the 28th June 2014.

While there are several familiar faces, such as talisman Eugene Hanrahan, there is also an influx of youth with highly-rated teenagers Christoffer Ellebirke and Malipo Birunga Yusufu included for the first time.

Selection follows the recent DRL Championship final which saw Copenhagen Black Swans defeat Jylland RLFC, 26-14 in Randers.

Reflecting on the squad, DRLF vice-President, Kristina Landsperg said: “We are excited about the new young players coming through. The recent contests between Jutland and Copenhagen and forged new skills and we look forward to the highest standard of play ever in the Nordic Cup.”

Ungureanu Andrei, Morten Dam, Christoffer Ellebirke, Rich Groom, Eugene Hanrahan, Silas Mubanda, Herbert Mulipola, Thomas Tilsted, Joshua Whitehead (all Copenhagen RLFC), Tom Søgaard Bonde, Justin Eyles, Jonas Damgaard Harreskov, Paul Healy, Viiga Lima, Orveh Melchior Jr, Zanki Nicolajsen, Mark Nielsen, Anders Kiel Ankerstjerne Sørensen, Neil Smith, Malipo Birunga Yusufu (all Jylland RLFC)