Association of Rugby League Clubs

The Russian Association of Rugby League Clubs (ARLK) is a Full Member of the ERLF. In 2010 it succeeded the now defunct Russian Rugby League Federation, a founding RLEF Full Member, and in part was a reaction to the Ministry of Sport’s Order 21 of January 20, 2010, which expelled rugby league from the state register of sports, and a general dissatisfaction with the direction of rugby league in Russia.

The Association, which maintains the unbroken thread of rugby league in Russia and the USSR dating back to 1991, is managed by a Board of Directors, constitutionally mandated for four years and comprising representatives of the clubs voted by the general assembly.

ARLK administers the game at all levels. The national championship is played from May-November; schools competitions are played from January-December; representative football is played throughout the summer. The ARLK runs national teams at U19 (Junior Bears), and senior (the Bears).

Geographically, Russian rugby league is split into three regions - Center (Moscow and Moscow Region), Perm and South (Rostov-on-Don and region).

Russia became a Full Member of the ERLF on 22 February 2013.

Powered by Froala Editor