Serbian Rugby League Federation

The Serbian Rugby League Federation was founded in 2001 and became Full Members of the ERLF, which they achieved in August 2011. It led the second incarnation of a code which was played liberally in the 1950s and 1960s before abandonment by the old Yugoslavian sports authorities.

The SRLF was one of the founders of the ERLF and one of the five original Affiliate Members. After federal government recognition in 2005 the SRLF eventually completed its offical status following inclusion into the Serbian Sports Association in 2009.

The seat of the Federation is in Belgrade, Serbia’s historic capital city. The SRLF is managed by the five-member Board, which is chosen by members of the general assembly quadrennially. The general assembly consists of all Serbian clubs, departments and regional federations and holds its AGM at the end of every year.

The main SRLF competition is the Serbian RL Championship, followed by Serbian Cup. Both are played from March-October. The “UniLeague“ or student competition is staged during the winter off-season. Serbia deploys national teams at senior (the Eagles) and junior levels (U18 and U16 ). The representative season also comprises the Serbian Origin Cup.

Regional federations (Belgrade, Vojvodina and South) administer youth development and organize U16 and lower age grade competitions. Coaching and Match Official Departments provide education in each sector.

They became RLIF full members in May 2012.

Powered by Froala Editor