Draw for the Euros to be Live Streamed

29 Jan 2020

The draw for the Men’s 2020 Rugby League European Championships will streamed live on the RLEF Facebook page  https://www.facebook.com/rlefofficial/ at 7pm GMT Friday 31st January 2020 

The stream will come live from the Red Star Sport Society Media Centre in Belgrade courtesy of the fantastic CKM Red Company. 

A record 16 teams will be part of the competition: 

Euro A (6 teams): France, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Italy, Spain. 

Euro B (3 teams) Russia, Greece, Serbia

Euro C (3 teams): Ukraine, Germany, Norway 

Euro D (4 teams): Malta, Czech Republic, Turkey, Netherlands 


Presented by the RLEF’s  Eastern European Director Jovan Vujosevic the draw will be undertaken by Serbia rugby league’s men’s and women’s national team captains Stevan Stevanovic and Jelena Stojiljkovic. Stevan is also an influencer on Instagram with 95,700 followers on https://www.instagram.com/steva_rl13/ 




Six teams will compete in Euro A: France, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Italy, Spain. 

For the draw there are 3 seeded pots and nobody from the same pot will be placed into the same group.


Pot 1: France and Wales. France are reigning champions and Wales were runners up in the 2018 tournament. 

Pot 2: Ireland and Scotland were 3rd and 4th respectively in the last European Championships. 

Pot 3: Italy and Spain are new entrants into the main competition. 


The draw will work in two stages. Firstly to determine the groups and then to attain the fixtures.

Each nation will play one home game and one away game in the group stage. 



The fixtures for Euro B have already been agreed and therefore there is no draw for this tier. 

17/18 October – Serbia v Russia 

24/25 October – Greece v Serbia 

31st Oct/ 1st Nov – Russia v Greece 




An open draw between 3 nations: Norway, Ukraine, Germany.

1st nation out will play at home in week 1 and away in week 2

2nd nation out will play away in week 1 and home in week 3. 

3rd nation out will play home in week 2 and away in week 3




An open draw involving 4 nations: Netherlands, Czech Republic, Turkey, Malta. 

The draw will determine the two groups of two. 

The 2 nations in the same group will play each other on a home and away basis with the aggregate score from both games deciding the group winner. 

Both group winners will play in the Euro D Final in the summer of 2021.  

First nation out is placed into group 1 and plays at home first 

Second nation out is placed into group 2 and plays at home first 

Third nation out in group 1 

Fourth nation out in group 2 



That concludes the details of the draw and don’t forget to tune in this Friday https://www.facebook.com/rlefofficial/