9 Jun 2022

Italy and Ireland have named their squads for the first-ever fixture in the Euro B women’s championship, which will feature six nations. The north group clash will take place at the Pasian Di Pato Stadium, Udine on Saturday,  11 June (kick off 5.30pm local time).

Federazione Italiana Rugby League president, Orazio D'Arro, commented: “The match will not only be a great test for our women but a further tribute to the great work done by Tiziano Franchini, who had development of the women’s game very much at heart. We are very satisfied with the work done in preparation, regardless of the result, this is the start of establishing a meaningful pathway for girls.”

Alberto Suin, Italy women’s head coach, added: “The girls have already shown that they are a cohesive and very determined team. We are facing Ireland with a lot of enthusiasm and with the desire to hit the playing field again. In these months of meeting up, the girls have always trained with determination and concentration. We will face the match as best we can, confident, will give our best and try to establish ourselves.”

Ireland head coach, John Whalley, noted: “This is a great opportunity for us to be able to test ourselves against high ranking opposition. We have seven uncapped players that come into the mix from the Wales fixture last October with five of those being from the domestic competition, which just shows that the sport in Ireland is building year on year. Without two notable absentees in our captain Pip Birchall and halfback Syphonia Pua, both missing with knee injuries, uncapped Orla McCallion brings a huge amount of experience from Betfred Women’s Super League, having won Grand Finals and Challenge Cups with Leeds Rhinos.”

Spain's Tony Palacios, a graduate of European Rugby League's Technical Education programme will take charge of the fixture. 



Pandolfo Enrica, Viglianisi Martina (Amatori Catania Rugby), Arzenton Giada, Colangeli Giulia, Dall’Antonia Martina, Forto Altea, Giacomazzo Camilla Matilde, Menotti Alessandra, Pinarello Virginia, Piva Cecilia, Raisa Siria, Ruggeri Vanessa (Lignano Xlll), Ascione Marika, Bettolati Rosa, Hassnien Rwan, Pantaleoni Rebecca Liliana, Severgnini Marvin (Phoenix Rugby Verdello) Loide Agosta, Giulia Iozzia (Vittoria Rugby)


Storm Cobain (Bedford Tigers), Lisa Callan, Steph Carroll, Ali Coleman, Erin Coll, Roisin Crowe,  Emma Curran, Clodagh Dunne, Ray Lawless, Alex McGuinness (Dublin City Exiles), Charlie Willet (Exeter Chiefs), Francessca Copley (Featherstone Rovers), Stacy Hanley, Ella Synott (Galway Tribeswomen), Mairead Quinn (Leigh Miners Rangers), Orla McCallion (Leeds Rhinos), Iona McCusker (London Broncos), Louise Burgess (Oxford Cavaliers), Bettie Lambert (York City Knights)