1 Dec 2023

The squads have been confirmed as Kenya host two senior men’s internationals against France at the ASK Grounds in Nairobi, tomorrow (Saturday, 3pm local time) and on Tuesday (4pm kick off). The highest ranked and first European nation the Kenyans have faced, they recently returned from a two-game tour of South Africa.

“We are thrilled to get the chance to play an international rugby league game at home and the two matches against the French side will give our boys further exposure,” said Kenya head coach Edward Rombo. “No doubt the more games we play of this nature can only be good for the development of the game in Kenya and show us where we stand in terms of the world stage, as we hope to soon compete for a spot in a World Cup.”

France match officials coach Stephane Vincent, who has accompanied the visitors, will join ERL’s Middle East & Africa regional director Remond Safi in delivering an MO course to local candidates to support Kenya’s technical development plan. 

France’s team is made up from players in the Elite Leagues and their coach, Maxime Grésèque, noted: “It is with a very rejuvenated group that we are here in Kenya. The objective is to be able, thanks to these two meetings, to give playing time to each of them. All the players and staff are looking forward to our time in Nairobi and helping in the development of the sport here.”

Kenya’s captain, AP Warriors’ Denish Ndinya, added: “Hosting France at home will be another platform to build up rugby league. These games will help us add a good depth and quality in the national team and maybe even have our boys go professional and attract more sponsorship partners to support the sport. We know we are in the shop window.”

Denish Ndinya (AP Warriors), James Odhiambo (AP Warriors), Malcom Busuru (AP Warriors), Sollo Mbugua (AP Warriors), Wycliffe Ratemo (AP Warriors), Joseph Nun Biar (Ruffians), Victor Njuguna Ndung'u (Ruffians), Anderson Oduor (Rhynos), Raymond Ekutu Nyongesa (Rhynos), Saidi Abdalla (Rhynos), Michael Karani(Sharks), Edwin Watulo (Wolves), Evans Omondi (Wolves), Frank Awuor Otieno (Wolves), Joseph Otieno (Wolves), Kelly Omari (Wolves), Paul Seda (Winam), Ramadhan Masete (Winam)

Baptiste Fabre, Mathias Leveille, Nittim Pedrero (Albi) ; Maxime Grosson, Baptiste Pourchi (Avignon) ; Félix Aubry, Clément Boyer, Clément Herrero, Nolan Lopez-Buttignol (Carcassonne) ; Bastien Scimone (Dragons) ; Quentin Crunel, Paolo Dallasta (Limoux) ; Allan Baby, Mathias Marty (Pia) ; Guillermo Aispuro-Bichet, Yacine Ben Abdeslem, Corentin Le Cam (St Esteve XIII Catalan) ; Hnaloan Hnangan, Mathieu Pons (St Gaudens) ; Wail Skoundri (Toulouse)